“Let’s learn from yesterday and live for today. It’s the only way to move forward.” – Anela Lee

When Anela Lee’s brother, Jake, dies on the football field, her family is shattered. Her parents never wanted her, and without her biggest cheerleader, she withdraws into her pain and insecurities. Even school, once a refuge, means nothing anymore. Only one teacher refuses to give up on her, pushing her to enter an essay contest that gives her a shot at Harvard. Still, self-doubt holds Anela back.

Then a senator teaches her about the many world leaders who have used their childhood trauma to do great things. The hope that Anela can turn her path into something beautiful gives her back her spark and encourages her to enter the contest. But does she have the confidence to share her essay in front of an audience?

Anela’s Club is a coming-of-age story about rising above tragedy and learning to view life through a lens of hope and love.

Audience of Anela’s Club

  • Students
  • Teachers & Coaches
  • Parents
  • Under-Represented Teens
  • Fans of “Comeback” Stories
  • Readers who loved The Fault in Our Stars, The Book Thief, The Poisonwood Bible, & Sophie’s World

Key Points

  • Endorsed by educators, coaches, and authors
  • Appeals to readers of underrepresented voices
  • Strong first-person account of a teen’s journey through trauma
  • Presents trauma through a lens of love and hope
  • Author is the first to present aggregate data on childhood traumas of American presidents
  • Releases just in time for campaign season and the presidential election
  • Anela’s Club is adapted into a screenplay